The Date Night Dress

27 Oct

I had a bit of spare time this weekend so I was able to finish a dress for the Monthly Stitch Frocktober Challenge. I used The Date Night Dress pattern from April Rhodes. This was the first time I had used an April Rhodes pattern and won’t be my last. Her pattern was billed as a beginner and certainly delivers. April has color photos and clear instructions to guide you through each step.  My favorite part was the flutter sleeves which I think are super flattering. Many patterns require modification due to my larger upper arms and this one didn’t.

date night

The fabric is Amy Butler’s Twilight Peony Rayon in Saffron from Hawthorne Threads. I found the colors to be a vibrant mix of lighter fall hues that should work well by themselves or with a cropped cardigan. The skirt has a high-low hem and I added shirring to the back for a small amount of waist definition. I may also wear a belt and tights when the weather gets colder. This is definitely a pattern I will use again!

date night 2

8 Responses to “The Date Night Dress”

  1. Nessa October 27, 2013 at 6:37 PM #

    I really like those sleeves too – always flattering.

    • sullivan1970 October 28, 2013 at 9:36 AM #

      I have tried them on the Colette Taffy but it took me forever to figure out how to attach them with french seams. I wish I had the April Rhodes instructions back then…it would have saved me hours of frustration!

  2. sewexhausted October 31, 2013 at 2:41 PM #

    Love the fabric! And I will have to go check out April’s patterns. ~Laurie

    • sullivan1970 October 31, 2013 at 3:24 PM #

      This is the only one I have tried but I have seen many versions of her other pattern, The Staple Dress that are wonderful!

  3. Sophia December 4, 2013 at 12:25 AM #

    Wow, I love the dress and the flutter sleeve is very flattering…I too have large upper arms so I will be looking for this pattern. Great job :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Date Night Dress Frocktober Challenge | The Monthly Stitch - October 27, 2013

    […] details can be found on my blog. Next up for the November “From a Sewing Book” challenge will be either Colette’s […]

  2. New Dress, New Challenge & New Giveaway | my modern vintage - February 13, 2014

    […] of the driveway! I bought this fabric last year from Hawthorne Threads along with the fabric for my Date Night dress.  I also still have three lengths of fabric from that order waiting to be stitched up so I […]

  3. The Monthly Stitch Miss Bossy Patterns March Challenge | my modern vintage - February 16, 2014

    […] whatever theme the majority chose. I haven’t had a chance to complete any challenges since my Date Night dress entry for the Frocktober Challenge but that hasn’t stopped me from cutting out the […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers